Tags

, , , ,

First off I would like to say that I have had many best of lists when it comes to music over the years because those lists are always changing and I already did a top twenty favorite music groups list a little more than a year ago, but this list is a little more focused than that one was and greatly updated in my opinion, so this isn’t really a definitive list so much as the newest one available from me.

20. Foreigner: A 1970s arena rock band with four decent albums during the late 1970s and 1980s. They also had cross over appeal, which is rare for a music group, with success during both the 1970s and 1980s.

19. Billy Squier: A 1980s arena rock music performer with one great album called Don’t Say No that featured such great songs as In the Dark and one of my favorite songs ever because it’s angsty and brooding but carries with it a ray of hope, Lonely Is the Night.

18. Eddie Money: Definitely one of the nicest guys in music. He used to be a cop at a police academy until he decided to be an arena rock music performer instead with such great songs as I Think I’m In Love featured in a comical, vampire filled music video.

17. .38 Special: Another 1980s arena rock group but with some southern influences thrown in giving them a nice countryish feel, which is great for taking road trips through Illinois. They’re my favorite southern rock group and are based off of Lynyrd Skynyrd.

16. Bryan Adams: A 1980s pop rock artist representing Canada. Bryan Adams had one great album called Reckless, which featured such great songs as the double entendre Summer of 69 and another one of my favorite songs ever, Run To You.

15. Living Colour: An African American heavy metal group from the 1980s with some powerful guitar work. Their first album is one of my favorite albums in all of music with such great songs as Cult of Personality, I Want To Know and Desperate People.

14. Styx: A 1970s progressive rock band with three great albums, Grand Illusion, Pieces of Eight and my favorite concept album, Paradise Theater. Styx has many great rock and roll anthems but beneath the surface they have some really artistic prog rock, too.

13. Pat Benatar: My second favorite female music performer in all of rock. My favorite female music performers were always the ones who could hold their own when it came to rocking and having a hard edged persona, but she also has the benefit of good vocals.

12. Joan Jett: My favorite woman in all of rock. She is similar to Pat Benatar, but has some of the most passion for music out of any music performer as shown by her song called I Love Rock and Roll. She also doesn’t care what people think of her either.

11. Billy Idol: A punk rock and new wave artist from the 1980s with many different styles of music, each of which works pretty well. His punk rock provides a nice angst while his new wave music provides some nice music to run or dance to.

10. Boston: Boston’s later music was kind of weak in my opinion, but their first album has some of the most nostalgic songs for me. More Than a Feeling takes me right back to my teenage years in high school and Long Time is one of my favorite lengthy songs.

9. Aerosmith: They had a consistently good career during both the 1970s and 1980s with many classic albums and singles. Their 1970s music was not really my favorite style of music, but they’re one of the longest rocking groups around.

8. ZZ Top: Some groups such as Kiss are all gimmicks and no substance in my opinion, but ZZ Top is an unusual group where if you took away the beards, music videos and car you would actually realize that, my gosh, they are truly talented music performers.

7. Bon Jovi: Many people criticize Bon Jovi and for good reason because his later music kind of sucks, but his first three albums with singles such as Runaway and You Give Love a Bad Name are some of my favorite albums in all of music, even 7800 Fahrenheit.

6. Motley Crue: Motley Crue are another group that was sometimes more popular for their antics than their music, but they are actually talented and made some of the greatest albums during the 1980s despite their outlandish image.

5. Def Leppard: On the opposite side of the coin from Motley Crue in the 1980s glam metal movement we have Def Leppard who always seemed to be upbeat, fun and nice guys except when they made their Slang album, which is one of my favorites of theirs.

4. Guns and Roses: With one of my favorite albums of all time as their debut, one of my favorite guitarists and my favorite song, Paradise City, Guns and Roses have lots to offer. Both of their Use Your Illusion albums were diverse and creative as well.

3. Ozzy Osbourne: Ozzy Osbourne is not only the lead vocalist for one of the greatest heavy metal bands but also has a knack of picking really good guitarists such as Randy Rhoades, Jake E. Lee and Zakk Wylde. I never even bother to think of Gus G., though.

2. Van Halen: Van Halen had a career that has been good pretty much from beginning to end and have one of my favorite guitarists, Eddie Van Halen. I think their newest album was great and when I saw them on tour I thought they were good then, too.

1. Bad Company: A 1970s arena rock group that in my opinion was so much more than many of the other groups that fell into their category of music. Their first five albums are still some of my absolute favorite albums in all of rock and roll.

